In The Garden

in the garden

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. [John 1:1]

Ultimately, if we conjure up and wonder about the vastness of creation we can come to a simple conclusion: Adam and Eve never asked for any of it. I mean, when Adam was created he didn’t ask to be the first man in creation. Nor, did he ask to name all the animals-those were gifts. A part of his destiny to fulfill. He had the free will to say, “no” to what God wanted from him but he didn’t have the option to pick what God desired from him. Therefore, we can make a generalization and say that; God chose him.

Meaning, the creator of the universe decided to make a human being in His image that He knew would fall short. God knew that Adam was weak in his ability to stand up for what was right and God knew all along that Adam would listen to his wife and eat from the tree of good and evil. Yet, God made him anyway. Not for what Adam was, but for all the characteristics he wasn’t.

So, that makes me wonder: Is that why God made me? Not to be perfect or fit all the personality traits of someone that has it all together but rather because of my brokenness. In my weakness, He is made strong. So, if I feel the need to be superior, He can only be inferior in me.

Which, I don’t think would be such a good career move on my part because if I’m all I can be in this world and He’s the lack thereof, I still fall short to what I was made to be and that’s really not much of a life.

Maybe, who I was made to be isn’t because of me, but dependent upon what He does through me.

Leave a comment